Interesting facts about UNESCO

We all would have heard about UNESCO at some point in our lives and its world heritage sites like Machu Picchu, Auschwitz etc. which are termed historically significant. UNESCO does not only choose such places to term them as historically significant, but they also protect that place and maintain an intangible Cultural list which includes traditions which get passed on from generation to generation. The following are some of the interesting facts about UNESCO.

• UNESCO was formed on 16th November 1945, and it is a specialised agency of the United Nations.
• The main purpose of UNESCO is to contribute to the peace and security in the world by promoting education, science, justice, human rights and culture.
• There are about 195 countries who are member states of UNESCO, and there are about nine associate members.
• UNESCO has cluster offices, national and regional offices. The cluster offices often cover more than three nations.
• The Headquarters is located in Paris, France.
• The current director is Irina Bokova, and she was elected in the year 2009. She replaced Koïchiro Matsuura who was from Japan, and she has been the director general since the year 1999.
• The five major programs include education, human science, natural science, communication and culture.
• The Heritage sites are present all over the world, and there are about 157 countries.


Let’s take a look at some of the UNESCO World Heritage sites:
Ilulissat Icefjord:
The Ilulissat Icefjord is one of the most beautiful places on the earth which is dying. It is the fastest moving active glaciers in the world and is located in Greenland. You will be able to see whales, seabirds, seals and other brilliant animals.
Tiwanaku is located in Bolivia, and it was the capital city of the pre-Hispanic empire. The city had great political importance, and it was also a religious site which also had a brilliant underground drainage system. The city is in ruins now, but a small part of the city still stands, and UNESCO aims to protect that site and his cultural heritage. The city was listed as a heritage site in the year 2000.
Grand Canyon National Park:
The Grand Canyon National Park has been a beautiful site. It as thousands of tourists every year and has a rich geological history. The site has been a heritage site for about three decades. Due to the erosion and other natural elements, the canyons have been formed, and the part where the north and the south Rim divides is an extraordinary site.
Belize Barrier Reef:
The Reef happens to be the home of serval endangered species, and it is something which has to be protected to maintain the biodiversity. The site was considered a world heritage site in the year 1996.